VT321 OK
2020-02-14 WEBSITE PUBLIC LIBRARY 3:00
Hello! Welcome to the card catalog of website reviews: a website review site and an homage to the card catalog DEC VT320 terminals found in most public libraries in the early 90s.
Reviews are organized by RATING (1 through 5), CATEGORY, TITLE (with an extra classifier indicating the protocol if unusual, e.g. "ONION" for Tor-based sites), or DATE.
If you have js, click the headers to sort.

RATING CATEGORY DATE TITLE REVIEW
3 APP 2020-02-15 4:00 ONION My Onion Bookmarks A place to bookmark onion sites. I'm not sure I fully understand the purpose, because...can't you just press ctrl+d? But some people like their own little organizational applications, I suppose.
4 CHAN 2020-01-14 1:00 lainchan A cyberpunk chan. I'm kind of surprised I forgot to transfer this one over while I was adding on the other chans in this listing.
2 ADVOCACY 2020-01-14 1:00 The Hanford Nuclear Report Some guy concerned with some group that's dumping radiation in the Columbia River, apparently?
3 NEWS 2020-01-12 18:00 newscure News aggregator.
4 CHAN 2020-01-12 18:00 ONION 8kun 8kun's new site. There are slight issues in restoring old boards or adding new ones. At the moment there's a lot of fear about whether it's still a honeypot.
5 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 Paranoid's Bible Great anti-doxxing resource both in the internet and irl. Also, great tips to use for online behavior in general.
4 ONION 2020-01-12 18:00 Tor Project If you want to access the ONION links, go here.
4 HOSTING 2020-01-12 18:00 ONION Daniel's Hosting Deepweb hosting for simple websites.
2.5 HOSTING 2020-01-12 18:00 ONION Myanee Deepweb hosting.
3 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 ? RSEC MAIN If you want to follow these guys, you have to hook up to their DNS server to find out more about them. They mainly have an IRC channel. Dedicated to privacy issues.
3.5 BLOG 2020-01-12 18:00 ELDRITCH DATA Lots of GNU/Linux stuff, tech stuff, etc.. But the simplistic movie/music recommendations lists especially appeal to me. Everything is very simply laid out, both typographically and the actual points and content he's laying out.
3.5 BLOG 2020-01-12 18:00 Noko's Almanac A blog. It's weirdly grown on me, but I can't put a finger on to why yet. Also, it's nice to see a blogger realize what rss is.
5 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 I2P The Tin Hat Great news and educational site for privacy issues.
3 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 Tips on Remaining Anonymous How to into internet.
3 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 Intrinsically Repulsive Bloggy site listing thoughts on censorship, anonymity, privacy, and personal security.
4 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 FREENET Dig Deeper The source of inspiration for the Spyware Watchdog page. The guy is trying to fight the web's botnet. Also, supports a lot of alternative web protocols.
5 PRIVACY 2020-01-12 18:00 Spyware Watchdog Reviews software products and websites with an eye to privacy. Greatly influenced the BOTNET category on this page.
2 CRAFT 2020-01-12 18:00 My Brain Is Like Great typography advice. Simple and to the point.
4 VIDEO 2020-01-12 18:00 Weebcrew A stream, usually dedicated to horror movies.
5 WEBCOMIC 2020-01-12 18:00 buttersafe My favorite webcomic I often check.
4 GAMES 2020-01-12 9:00 Britannia Divided A country development game. Has quite a bit of potential.
3 CRAFT 2020-01-12 9:00 The web site of demxn A website about tea. It looks like it's still under construction, but I see potential here. You can't go wrong talking about tea.
3 GAMES/BLOG 2020-01-12 9:00 Asteroid2000 A depressed guy who makes...really weird games. If they're meant to be thought of as that?
1.9 CRAFT 2020-01-12 9:00 JAPANESE KITE COLLECTION Exactly what it says on the tin. Dude doxxes himself on his own webpage. It was a simpler time.
1.9 CRAFT 2020-01-12 9:00 Prust Banjos An article about a guy making banjos.
3 TECH 2020-01-12 9:00 The OldSkool PC Lots of information on old PCs, vintage electronics, and retro hardware. Still updating.
2 TECH 2020-01-12 9:00 Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant Want some pictures of a nuclear power plant? Well then.
2 WEBCOMIC 2020-01-12 9:00 Johnny the Homicidal Maniac A webcomic about a...deranged man. Has finished its run.
2 BLOG 2020-01-12 9:00 The Seinfeld Hate Page Dude hates Seinfeld.
4 ART 2020-01-12 9:00 Website of Bruh Moments Quite easily the best website in existence.
2 ANIME 2020-01-12 9:00 The Yuka Takeuchi Fan's Severe Waste of Time A fansite of Yuka Takeuchi anime. Mainly an excuse to collect pics of busty anime females. However, it hasn't been updated for a decade.
1.9 ANIME 2020-01-12 9:00 Watson's World Wide Waste of Time Page An anime fansite...but it's dead and doesn't have all that much except maybe a few interesting articles.
3.1 ANIME 2020-01-12 9:00 Absolute Anime An anime fansite that's been going on for 20 years now. Has lots of character profiles.
3 ANIME 2020-01-12 9:00 Rob Kelk's Anime Website An anime fansite. Mainly known for its dedication to girls with glasses and Ani-Mayhem card game.
1 BOTNET 2020-01-12 9:00 Reddit These vote counts seem real, the mods are completely reasonable, I think all shadowbans are reasonable, and I love being gaslit on a daily basis. Chocolate rations have always increased every year on Airstrip One.
1 BOTNET 2020-01-12 9:00 Google Hello yes, I would like propaganda streamed directly into my brain, thank you. Oh, and if you could regurgitate the same, stale content that everyone else has already seen before and only let me see the approved corporate websites, I would like that too, I think.
3.1 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 Saga Musix Electronic Music scene, in ogg format, too! Still updating.
3 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 Amiga Music Preseration As the name suggests, an archive of Amiga music. Still active to this day.
3.1 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 Nectarine If you like demoscene, try here. The site has been on and off on hiatus, but seems to be back (?).
3.1 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 The Mod Archive People who generate MOD-format music. So, basically, if you want to find out new chiptune, try here. Still updating to this day.
3.1 ANIME 2020-01-12 9:00 Earth CG Gallery Collections of Anime CGs and pictures. Moonrunes warning.
3.1 WAREZ 2020-01-12 9:00 T E X T F I L E S A library of various, interesting textfiles. Very well known.
3 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 dramacore Site dedicated to some punk. Downloads available under the mp3 section.
3.1 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 proc-records Downloads available on the site. These guys seem to accept anything. You're going to have to dig here to find stuff.
3 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 abulia concepts Downloads available on the site. I don't know how to label this one.
3 MUSIC 2020-01-12 9:00 overthruster A hardcore music label. Downloads available on the site.
3.5 MEDIA 2020-01-12 9:00 A://FLOPPYSWOP Various files and oddities that can fit on a floppy (1.44MB).
2 BLOG 2020-01-12 9:00 Off the Boss A bunch of complaints about peoples' bosses. It's been inactive for 10 years though.
2.5 GAMES 2020-01-12 9:00 Let's Persona A Persona fansite, but is 20 years dead.
3 GAMES 2020-01-12 9:00 IT-HE Software A guy regales you with stories in games he's played. It's fun, but hasn't been updated in a couple of years.
3.5 GAMES 2020-01-12 9:00 Jazz Jackrabbit A Jazz Jackrabbit fansite. The forum is still active.
3.5 GAMES 2020-01-12 9:00 Kirby's Rainbow Resort A Kirby fansite. The forums are still active and there appears to be a webcomic community that's still going as well.
3 GAMES 2020-01-12 9:00 CammyFan A fansite for the Mortal Kombat character: Cammy. A little too singular in purpose for my taste, but kudos for still going strong after 20 years.
2 BLOG 2020-01-11 19:00 THE CASTLE OF LOGAN FARLANE A guy's personal blog. Another one of those sites that stopped updating once he got a gf.
2 BLOG 2020-01-11 19:00 sixthseal.com A foodie blog. Sorry if you're interested in that, but I can't vouch for it very much.
2.5 BLOG 2020-01-11 19:00 Kibo: Kibo's Official Site A blog of a popular figure back in the Usenet days. Unfortunately, it's been abandoned over the past decade and is now falling apart.
2 BLOG 2020-01-11 19:00 Me, Myself, & I A guy's personal blog from 1996. Stopped updating once he got a gf.
3 CULT 2020-01-11 19:00 fUSION Anomaly. One of those sites on the brink of cult and surreal art.
2.5 CULT 2020-01-11 19:00 Exit Mundi A collection of end-of-the-world scenarios. It has not been updated in a long time, and ALMOST seems to be dead: there are still people clinging on to the forum.
3 GAMES 2020-01-11 19:00 :3 An unfinished game. There seems to be a lot of potential here, though. I am unsure when it was last updated or if it will be updated.
3 GAMES 2020-01-11 19:00 GOD-CORP A break-the-code 'puzzle' site.
1.5 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 ACCESS-HOME An art project where someone in LA asked people to put stuff on a bookcase.
3 GAMES 2020-01-11 19:00 Almost Sweet Another choose-your-own-adventure game (?).
4 BLOG 2020-01-11 19:00 Hawaii 1999 A cute, personal blog. Looks like the diary is still updated. Dedicated to cute.
3 CULT 2020-01-11 19:00 Planet Express A guy who treats Futurama as prophecy and evaluates their predictions.
3 MUSIC 2020-01-11 19:00 Ullis Tapes A techno label.
1.5 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 cmj Just a single text character of a heart.
3.5 GAMES 2020-01-11 19:00 compos-mentis A choose-your-own-adventure site.
2 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 Analog 3vil Portal A collection of satanic poster images. Not much else. No idea of updates.
4 WEBRING 2020-01-11 19:00 Anilinks A LARGE collection of links relating to anime. If you like anime, this is your goto dropping off point.
3.5 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 catch'em all! JFC, this site is weird. It looks like a Pokemon fan site, but the content is just so out-of-place and weird. What you read is so out-of-place with the aesthetics that's it's downright disturbing.
3.5 CULT 2020-01-11 19:00 Astrological Interpretations Lots of information on astology.
2 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 4k!dz Fan-Zone Uh. Just collections of images of otaku rooms? I mean, if you're into that, I guess...
3 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 postalb12 I have a really hard time categorizing this one. At first it looks like yet another random 'art' website on neocities. But there's weird stuff in the view-source that can lead you down a rabbit hole. I don't fully know what's going on with this one.
2 WEBRING 2020-01-11 19:00 Yoohoo Webring A webring of some very interesting and well-designed personal sites. It's too bad that a lot of the sites are no longer being updated more, however, and most are dead.
3 NEWS 2020-01-11 19:00 A:EDLIN.COM The front splash page has a very, very neatly emulated ncurses look to it. There is a slacknews connection which is actually a decent news aggregator, if only it had the same style layout as the rest of the site. The blog makes it seem like this site has not been updated in some time though.
3.5 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 Fluorescent Adolescent Aesthetics If there was anything that could be said to be an atelier for vaporwave imagery, this would be it. Unfortunately, no music, and no idea of a content upload schedule.
1.9 ART 2020-01-11 19:00 Asthetic [sic] Name Just a princess gif background with a weird poem.
2.1 BLOG 2020-01-11 19:00 My Autistic Webpage A pretty nice looking website. Although the front splash page is very unique and incredibly artistic, the links are already very well known websites that seem very out of place to be advertising, and the reviews page is in a completely different, less artistic format, and does not have a lot of unique content. There's a lot of potential here.
2 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Hotline Webring A webring with a lot of weird, more eclectic, artsy and personal sites.
4 GAMES 2020-01-11 2:00 Kitsch-Soft A free VN. Kind of a Katawa Shoujo-ish feel.
4 ART 2020-01-11 2:00 Wired Sound A place with a nice aesthetic and soundtrack that you might want to leave on in the background. Very lain.
4 CHAT 2020-01-11 2:00 ONION Cyberpunk Chatroom A pretty neat chatroom. But the real treasure is the library and radio.
5 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Cyberlife A cyberpunk link directory. Updated and lots of decent schway content.
3 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Tsunamichannel Links A list of webcomics. Over half are dead by now, though, unfortunately.
4 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 All Chans A list of chans. Many are dead, however.
5.1 GAMES 2020-01-11 2:00 Ross' Games List A list of new videogames that aren't really getting a lot of press by mainstream gaming publications, and yet are still usually pretty good. Ross has a philosophy of trying to advocate for DRM-free games, or as normal people put it, "When you buy it, you, you know, OWN the game." I'd like to think a lot of the philosophy and sentiment behind this game list and this site are very similar, and inspired me to make this.
3 GAMES 2020-01-11 2:00 Heaven Games RTS games fansite
4 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Districts Someone trying to bring back the old neighborhoods thing from Geocities over to Neocities.
2 TECH 2020-01-11 2:00 Nathan's Toasty Technology Page A website mainly reviewing bits of well-known pieces of software. This may sound harsh, but if we already know about them, then it kind of defeats a lot of the purpose of the review.
5.1 ADVOCACY 2020-01-11 2:00 The Website Obesity Crisis An article that really got me thinking about what exactly I wanted out of the web, what good design is, and appreciate a lot of txti websites or other Neocities websites. A lot of the motivation for this site started with this article.
3 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Million Short It's basically Google--but wait, you actually get _unique_ content. Mainly by throwing away all of the manipulated content that is usually on the top.
5 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Wiby Another great search engine. Unlike Curlie, it does give you automated results. But like a lot of others things on this list, it gives you decentralized sites that aren't filled with clutter and scripts. There are a lot of unique, homely, and interesting sites it gives--unlike Google nowadays.
5.1 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Curlie Probably the best replacement search engine out there. Granted, you have to do a breadth-search yourself to get to what you want, but you can ensure that you'll find what you want, the likelihood of being botnetted is much less, you're actually able to find unique and different content each time you crawl around the archives, and the whole experience is what I wished Google could have always been. Also, if you want to learn a different language, you can find a lot of primary source material in different languages to read.
5 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Peelopaalu A link directory with a lot of top class content and websites.
4 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 our space: reclaim the internet A webring containing a lot of made-from-the-heart personal sites.
3 FILM 2020-01-11 2:00 LDDB A database of lasedisc titles. I find it amusing an neat to look back on. But not much else.
2 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 55chan Brazilian chan.
3 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 22chan Kind of like original 4chan before people knew about it.
3 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 Uboachan A chan dedicated to Yume Nikki. Now more of a place to lounge and be depressed in. A decent place to find music suggestions, IMO.
3 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 Tohno-chan Originally a Touhou chan. Now more of a place to lounge and be depressed in. Very anime oriented now.
2.1 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 Spacechan A bunker chan for people who don't like the folks on neinchan. As of recently, has had a lot of issues with spam. When that isn't an issue, it's an alright board.
2 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 Freech Just /b/. Completely randumb posts.
4.5 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 Wizchan A chan for male celibates. In practice, the hobby threads are very comfy. Even though it's slow moving, you're likely to get decent media suggestions if you say what you're into--or find others interested in weird shit like knitting quipu, if you're willing to be patient and maybe talk to yourself for a week or two. At this point, the /hob/ board in particular feels more like a tandem blog than a chan.
2 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 neinchan A bunker for those who don't like the people on spacechan.
4 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 vch A chan for gaming. To that end, it does its job well.
3 ART 2020-01-11 2:00 Akiyoshi's Illusion Pages A site containing various optical illusions. Well, it's neat, but not much else.
3 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 ZERONET 08chan 8chan bunker.
2 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 ONION ni-chan Caveat Emptor. That's all I have to say on this one.
2 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 ONION Overchan Caveat Emptor. That's all I have to say on this one.
3 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 ONION Endchan A standard chan that at least has a automated board creation system. Often seen as a 4 or 8 chan bunker.
4.5 CHAN 2020-01-11 2:00 ONION Julay A chan that's attempting to add in the effort to decentralize the web. They have a very nice webring along with your usual assorted miscreants, rouser, and troublemakers that the cantinas called chans have. Has a fairly open board creation process, if not very automated. I'm not a mod, but come talk to me on the retro board.
5 WEBRING 2020-01-11 2:00 Lawn19 A very nice webring, the content is nice and it is clear that there is something the maker believes in. The website is simply designed with that vaporwave look. The site looks like something out of a Mother game, in a weird way.
1 BOTNET 2020-01-11 2:00 Facebook I wanted to include an example of the kind of sites I do not admire nor want to see. I feel like the uniqueness of humanity is offered up in anonymity, and by appealing to what people truly want others to see, but not others to see for the purposes of social manipulation. Also, there's a mess of botnet and scripts, but that's another story.
5.1 ADVOCACY 2020-01-11 2:00 ONION Fighting Against Wintermute The whole reason I started making this site. Websites do not need to be incredibly flashy to make their point. Often they're much better only as HTML and CSS. And a lot of what's good out there is the anti-botnet. A disclaimer: this site might have been me in a past life.
2 ART 2020-01-10 4:30 Angelcity I think that this was a decent attempt to be artistic, but instead it just feel completely random. Given the name, it appear to be a go at trying to hark to a cross between geocities and angelfire.
3 CULT 2020-01-11 4:30 Neozones This appears to be a 'site for a small group of friends' that is used to organize meetings to watch cult movies? It seems to have branched out from there to other weird artistic endeavors, like a group-made webcomic. It's interesting, and the color palette is chosen very well.
<PgUp>=Previous Screen, <PgDn>=Next Screen, Gigaplex Electronics Corporation© 2020, Contact websitereviews@dwfafychan.33mail.com (particularly if there are dead sites)